Monster Card

Monster Card
Monster Cards are used to battle against each other or directly against either player during the Battle Phase. Monster Cards are characterized by their names, Type, Attribute, ATK, DEF, and Level (or Rank or Link Rating). Monster Cards can be categorized into Normal Monsters, Effect Monsters, Ritual Monsters, Fusion Monsters, Synchro Monsters, XYZ Monsters, Pendulum Monsters, and Link Monsters. Each Monster card type has a distinctive colored card frame to differentiate them.

Monster Cards can also be classified as Tuner Monsters which gives them the ability to Synchro Summon Synchro Monsters. Effect Monsters can also be classified further by their Ability. These include Spirit Monsters, Toon Monsters, Gemini Monsters, Union Monsters and Flip Monsters.

Effect Monsters
Normal Monsters have no Effects. Effect Monsters cannot also be Normal Monsters (with the exception of Gemini Monsters), but they can also be Ritual, Fusion, Synchro, XYZ Monsters, Pendulum, and Link Monsters. Some Ritual, Fusion, Synchro, XYZ, and Link Monsters have no Effects and are therefore not also Effect Monsters, but they are not considered Normal Monsters. Such Monsters are known as Non-Effect Monsters.

Normal Summon/Set
During your Main Phase you can Normal Summon a Monster in face-up Attack Position or you can Set it in face-down Defense Position. Monster Cards usually have powerful Effects which you can activate during your Main Phase. They also have ATK and DEF values which come into play during the Battle Phase.

There are 14 different types of Monster Cards:
Normal Monsters
Effect Monsters
Tuner Monsters
Spirit Monsters
Toon Monsters
Gemini Monsters
Union Monsters
Flip Monsters
Ritual Monsters
Pendulum Monsters
Fusion Monsters
Synchro Monsters
XYZ Monsters
Link Monsters